What are NUTS 3 regions?

What are NUTS 3 regions?

The nomenclature of territorial units for statistics (Nomenclature des Unités territoriales statistiques – NUTS) is a geographical system, according to which the territory of the European Union is divided into hierarchical levels. The three hierarchical levels are known as NUTS -1, NUTS -2 and NUTS -3.

How many regions does NUTS 2 have?

The current NUTS classification, dated 21 November 2016 and effective from 1 January 2018 (now updated to current members as of 2020), lists 92 regions at NUTS 1, 244 regions at NUTS 2, 1215 regions at NUTS 3 level, and 99,387 local administrative units (LAUs).

What is lau2?

There are two levels of Local Administrative Units (LAU) defined. This category refers to units belonging to the second level (LAU 2, formerly known as NUTS 5), which is largely used by Eurostat and other European Union bodies.

What are the 12 UK regions?

In this section

  • Relationship of NUTS areas to UK administrative geographies.
  • North East (England)
  • North West (England)
  • Yorkshire and The Humber.
  • East Midlands (England)
  • West Midlands (England)
  • East of England.
  • London.

What is local administrative unit?

Short definition: local administrative units (LAUs) are used to divide up the territory of the EU for the purpose of providing statistics at a local level. They are low level administrative divisions of a country below that of a province, region or state.

What are the areas of England called?

England is divided into 9 geographical regions. These are London, the North East, North West, Yorkshire, East Midlands, West Midlands, South East, East of England and the South West.

What is NUTS 3?

NUTS 1: major socio-economic regions NUTS 2: basic regions for the application of regional policies NUTS 3: small regions for specific diagnoses Framing of EU regional policies Regions eligible for support from cohesion policyhave been defined at NUTS 2 level The Cohesion reporthas so far mainly been prepared at NUTS 2 level

What is the current NUTS 2016 classification?

The current NUTS 2016 classification is valid from 1 January 2018 and lists 104 regions at NUTS 1, 281 regions at NUTS 2 and 1348 regions at NUTS 3 level. The NUTS classification (Nomenclature of territorial units for statistics) is a hierarchical system for dividing up the economic territory of the EU and the UK for the purpose of:

Is there a list of statistical regions in nuts 2021?

The list of statistical regions is included in the NUTS 2021 file on our History of NUTS page.

Is there an interactive nuts map viewer available?

Our web tool ‘Statistical Atlas’ offers an interactive NUTS map viewer here. The list of statistical regions is included in the NUTS 2021 file on our History of NUTS page.

Related Posts