What is the physical geography of Sub-Saharan Africa?

What is the physical geography of Sub-Saharan Africa?

Most of it is a vast plateau, with only ten percent of its land area below an altitude of 500 feet. Near the equator are humid rainforests, but north and south of that band, most of sub-Saharan Africa is savanna, grasslands with scattered trees. In the south, the Kalahari Desert stretches along the Atlantic coast.

Where is sub-Saharan located?

Sub-Saharan Africa is, geographically, the area of the continent of Africa that lies south of the Sahara. According to the United Nations, it consists of all African countries and territories that are fully or partially south of the Sahara.

What are the 4 regions of Sub-Saharan Africa?

Landforms Ecologically separated from North Africa by the sweeping and sparsely populated Sahara Desert, the sub-Saharan mainland consists of four vast and distinct regions: Central Africa, East Africa, West Africa, and Southern Africa. Together, they constitute an area of 9.4 million square miles.

What is sub-Saharan?

Definition of sub-Saharan : of, relating to, or being the part of Africa south of the Sahara.

What is the difference between North Africa and Sub-Saharan Africa?

Sub-Saharan Africa is the term used to describe those countries of the African continent that are not considered part of North Africa. In 19th Century Europe and the Western world, the area was sometimes referred to as Black Africa.

What are the four main landforms in Africa?

There are four major types of landforms: Mountains, Hills, Plateaus and Plains.

Were there any African countries that were never colonized?

Key Takeaways. Ethiopia and Liberia are widely believed to be the only two African countries to have never been colonized. Their location, economic viability, and unity helped Ethiopia and Liberia avoid colonization.

Why did Sub-Saharan Africa not develop?

Africa lost all of its strongest workers, and the birth rate declined due to the large numbers of women of child-bearing age shipped off. The land could no longer be harnessed and tamed for infrastructure, one of the crucial first steps of development.

Is Madagascar in Sub-Saharan Africa?

Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cape Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar.

What countries are in Sub – Saharan Africa?


  • Benin
  • Botswana
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Cabo Verde
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Which is the poorest region in Sub Saharan Africa?

    South Sudan -$303. South Sudan is the poorest country in Africa with a per capita income of$303 per year.

  • Burundi -$307. Burundi is an East African landlocked country with a population of about 11,178,921.
  • Malawi -$351.
  • Central African Republic -$430.
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo -$449.
  • Madagascar -$459.
  • Mozambique -$476.
  • Niger -$477.
  • What is the only developed country in Sub Saharan Africa?


  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mozambique
  • Niger
  • Rwanda
  • São Tomé and Príncipe
  • Senegal
  • Related Posts